BHA Confirms Switch Of Races From Turf To All-Weather

Racing
|

21 April 2022

The BHA has today confirmed that all Flat Turf fixtures scheduled to be staged at Lingfield Park from 4 June 2022 to 10 September 2022 will be switched to the venue's All-Weather track in order to allow for extensive drainage work to be undertaken. 

The affected fixtures are:  

Saturday 4 June - Evening 
Monday 6 June - Afternoon 
Saturday 18 June - Evening 
Saturday 25 June - Evening 
Wednesday 6 July - Afternoon 
Wednesday 13 July - Evening 
Wednesday 20 July - Afternoon 
Saturday 23 July - Evening 
Saturday 30 July - Evening 
Saturday 6 August - Evening 
Tuesday 9 August - Afternoon 
Wednesday 24 August - Afternoon 
Wednesday 31 August - Afternoon 
Saturday 10 September - Afternoon 


Both the Oaks and Derby trials staged at Lingfield Park will be unaffected by the switch, which has been agreed to, in order to ensure that the turf racing surface at Lingfield is maintained in the long-term optimal condition for both Flat and Jump Racing and meets all licensing conditions. 

Lingfield Park Clerk of the Course George Hill said: “There are a number of areas across the track that will really benefit from further drainage work and, as such, we have made the decision to get it done this summer.” 

“We are grateful to the BHA for their assistance in moving our June to September fixtures on to the all-weather surface. We undertook some work on the track last year, and were really pleased with the impact, and the work this summer will offer us greater protections for our winter jumps programme and the remedial work that we have to do leading into the spring and summer flat seasons.” 
 

Lingfield Park

Racecourse logo

Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest news, events and special offers direct to your inbox.

SPONSORS AND PARTNERS
ENDORSEMENTS