Horses with female jockeys mid-race.
Horses with female jockeys mid-race.
Empowering Women

In a male dominated sport.

Silk Series

A Race Series Specifically For Female Jockeys
The Silk Series was launched by ARC as a race series specifically for female jockeys. Following its early success, it has grown to include more racecourses and a higher prize fund over the last couple of years.
A field of horses gallop watched by a crowd of spectators in the background.

What is the Silk Series?

The Silk Series consists of 13 races at racecourses across the UK from June to September. With the finals taking place at Doncaster Racecourse, during the St Leger Festival on Ladies Day.

Silk Series Champion 2018 : Meghan Nicholls poses with the Tufnell Trophy.

What Is The Prize?

Participants compete for The Tufnell Trophy, named in memory of Meriel Tufnell MBA (Great Britain’s first Female Champion Jockey in 1972). 2017 and 2018’s winner was Megan Nicholls who won the last series with 60 points.

We were all absolutely delighted with the reception that The Silk Series got from the racing community and wider sports industry last year, and we are very pleased to welcome our new racecourse partners in Goodwood, Hamilton Park, Musselburgh and York. All four racecourses will help to increase the opportunities for female jockeys to compete on popular race days and give a valuable contribution to raising the profile of The Silk Series. We hope interest in The Silk Series will continue to grow this summer and look forward to competitive racing as we did last year, with Megan Nicholls a very worthy winner of The Tufnell Trophy

Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest news, events and special offers direct to your inbox.